Close Icon
Contact Info     Call 24 Hours: 1.888.222.5847

Roos History   arrow

A Short History of Maroochydore Roos AFC…….1969 - 1982

The League was formed in September 1969 (SC & GAFL) after Carl Radke and Ron Verner had put ads in the local press. Maroochydore came into being soon after that same year, and was given permission to use the oval, behind the Maroochydore High School, as their home ground.

Noosa and Nambour formed clubs also. After only winning one home and away game all year, Maroochydore was victorious and took out the first Premiership in 1970! Maroochydore played at the local High School until 1974 when a new oval presented at Mooloolaba. After a few problems with the Mooloolaba ground the club was without a ground for the 1977 season, so hired Caloundra’s ground for that year.

Late 1977 the club acquired 10 acres in Wises Road and had an oval and change-rooms completed for the start of the 1978 season. Clubrooms were finished by end of season, and Maroochydore hosted the 1978 Grand Final. 

Maroochydore has played in ALL Grand Finals since the League’s inception, winning the flag in 1970, 1971, 1972, 1974, 1978 and 1979, and being runners-up on all other occasions. In this time the club won over 20 Juniors flags. In 1982 there were 6 Grand Finals on the one day (Juniors & Seniors) The Maroochydore club was represented in the six.


Great memories of days gone by ...

Great Mark Normo!

Roos 1982 Grand Final

Shane Johnson Champion Coach